Thomas Jefferson's wax figure at Madame Tussauds Washington D.C.

Thomas Jefferson PNG

Thomas Jefferson

Meet one of the original promoters of the ideals of republicanism in the United States

Thomas Jefferson was the third President of the United States.

Jefferson was the principal author of the Declaration of Independence and one of the most influential Founding Fathers. Jefferson supported the separation of church and state and was the author of the Virginia Statute for Religious Freedom. He founded Jeffersonian democracy and the co-founded and leader of the Democratic-Republican Party, which dominated American politics for a quarter-century.

Thomas Jefferson and Martin Van Buren are the only two people to accomplish a so-called "triple crown": serving as Secretary of State, Vice-President and President.

  • April 13, 1743: Thomas Jefferson was born
  • 1776: Principal Author of the Declaration of Independence
  • 1786: Author of the Virginia Statute for Religious Freedom
  • 1803: Arranged the purchase of the Louisiana Territory from France
  • 1819: Jefferson founded the University of Virginia

Save online

Enjoy great savings and faster entry when you book online

More information

The Presidents Gallery

Check out the Presidents Gallery website featuring wax portraits of all 44 Presidents. President timeline and study guide available! Click Here

Who else?